Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for October 3rd, 2009

Fiber Festival and an FO

Before I get to the fiber goodness, I thought I would share my most recent FO.

  • Project : Midget’s Birthday Mittens
  • Pattern: Basic Mittens (Ann Budd)
  • Made for : Misty’s 7-year-old daughter, Dawn
  • Yarn : Cascade 220 Superwash

This photo was taken last minute, so the lighting is crap.  These mittens are actually day-glow pink, to match the hat I had made Dawn in January.  They were a cute and quick knit; added buttons for embellishment just increase the cute factor.

Ok … I’ve got a glass of wine and I’m ready to tell you all about the Fall Fiber Festival!!!

This is one of my favorite festivals.  It’s small, intimate, and the sheer amount of fiber goodness is always amazing!  I woke up at o’dark thirty this morning so I could have enough energy to drive.  Then the hubby, Brandon, Tory, and I piled in the car and drove a couple of hours to Montpelier Station.

Merchant Row

Merchant Row

Tory - a light in the fog

Tory - a light in the fog

That’s Tory, Brandon’s girlfriend.  That photo doesn’t do her enough justice; she has amazingly beautiful long red hair, which you can not see well in this photo.

The first thing we did was take it all in, and scout out where we wanted to spend most of our money.

Llama

Llama

Some Navajo-Churro Sheep

Some Navajo-Churro Sheep

These two were very friendly!

These two were very friendly!

After making a second round, I decided it was time to find some fiber to take home with me.  Oh man … you know, I have a whole new outlook on fiber now that I spin.  Before, it was just looking, feeling …. but now … there is a whole creative storm brewing in my head, just waiting to come out onto my wheel!!!  I spent about $80 or so today, which really wasn’t too bad.  I could have easily spent more!

After walking around some more, eating lunch, and stopping off to say hello to Chan, we made our way back home.  Wow … I was exhausted.  I had a lot of fun, but it really took a lot out of me today.

Tory found some very pretty soy silk yarn, and Brandon reigned in with the alpaca.  Did I mention that Brandon is a long time friend, who also knits?  How cool is that?

Brandon, relaxing on my back porch.

Brandon, relaxing on my back porch.

But I know why ya’ll really came to my blog today; you wanna see the loot!

BFL - Rivers Edge Weaving Studio

BFL - River's Edge Weaving Studio

Brown Romney

Brown Romney

50 Merino / 50 Mohair - Persimmon Tree Farm

50 Merino / 50 Mohair - Persimmon Tree Farm

Same as above - Persimmon Tree Farm

Same as above - Persimmon Tree Farm

Corriedale (actually more of a brown/peach hue)

Corriedale (actually more of a brown/peach hue)

Corriedale - to ply with the above color

Corriedale - to ply with the above color

And yes, I did buy some yarn – but not for me.  I picked up a hank for my pal in the Recession Special swap.  I tell you … with being in the spinning ‘zone’, I barely looked at yarn.  Although, Creatively Dyed Yarn had some amazing colors, and I know that I will be ordering something from her for myself at some point!

All in all – it was an amazing day.  I tried to spin a little tonight, but I am just too tired!  Maybe tomorrow, is the weather is nice, so I can sit out on the deck.  But I do have some knitting to do … lest I not forget!

Read Full Post »