Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for October 13th, 2009

Spin Away

So, after getting to know the fiber a little better, she started to spin up wonderfully!  The 50% mohair/50% merino was a bit tricky at first.

I really think that the photo doesn’t do it justice; there is much more yellow and pink in it than the photo shows.

  • Fiber : 50 Merino/50 Mohair – Persimmon Tree Farm
  • Weight : 3.8 oz
  • Yardage : 236 yards/singly ply
  • Diameter : Lace/Light Fingering

(BTW – Tina … I’m taking a cue from your format on how you blog your yarn.  Hope you don’t mind!)

Again … the photo doesn’t do it justice.  It’s a great blend of blue, pink, yellow, and gray.  I love it!  Maybe, if I get it knitted up, then it will be more photogenic.  This is, also, pre-bath.  It was threatening rain, so I wanted to get photos.  Now, I just need to know what to make with it?  I like the look of The Yarn Harlot’s new cowl pattern.

Now … onto that Jacob that I spun up the other day.

I decided to ply it … she’s very pretty!!!

Grown up and Mini-Skein

Grown up and Mini-Skein

  • Fiber : Jacob sheep
  • Weight : 4 oz
  • Yardage : 2 ply – 103 yd, single – 78 yd
  • Diameter : Sport (the mini is lace)

I just think my yarn wasn’t in the mood for photos today.  These are also pre-bath.  The brown is actually very dark … the white in it makes it look like its ‘going gray’.  I’m told this is the nature of the breed of sheep.  I still like it.  I’m thinking fingerless gloves …

So … that’s my most recent work.  My spinning is becoming more uniform, and though I’ve come a long way … I still have a ways to go!

Read Full Post »