Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for August 17th, 2009

Recession Special Swap Q&A

economylive.org

In case you haven’t heard, I’m running another swap on Ravelry.  It’s called The Recession Special Swap!  In honor of the suck-ass state of the union, it’s low cost secret pal swap.  If you knit/crochet and are on Ravelry, check it out!

Do you knit or crochet, or both? How long have you been at the craft?

I knit, and have done so for four or so years now.  I learned to knit when I lived in NY state.

Do you spin?

YES!!!  I just learned how to spin while I was at the W.O.O.L retreat in New York.  I’m saving up for THIS wheel.

What yarns/fibers are your favorites?

I love classic work-horse yarns; Cascade 220, Mission Falls, etc.  I’m also a fan of Fearless Fibers (for sock and lace yarn, ) and almost all of the Knit Picks yarns.

What yarns/fibers do you not like?

I don’t really like cotton (or rather, it does not like me.)  I hate acrylic and fun-furr.

What yarns/fibers would you like to try but haven’t?

Being a new spinner, there are so many breeds that I want to try to spin, that I have lost count!  As far as yarns, nothing comes to mind.  I usually stick with the same old thing, but I am always willing to try something new.

What are your favorite colors? Colors that you don’t like?

I love all colors, save for yellow and orange.  I have a tendency to buy a lot of blue and purple, so expanding my color palette is a personal goal of mine.

What are your favorite types of projects to knit/crochet?

I love to knit socks, fingerless gloves, and hats.

What are you currently working on?

Hats for my charity project; Warm Up Winchester, my Personal Sock of the Month club, and a baby sweater

What is your favorite FO? (Please post a picture if you have one.)

This year so far, I’d have to say the Embossed Leaves socks that I made with Pagewood Farm sock yarn.

Are there any techniques that you want to learn?

I want to do more with color work, and learn how to make a proper fitting cardigan sweater.

Do you have a yarn winder and/or swift?

Yes, I have both, although I’ve been wanting to get myself a nostepinne.

How do you store your needles/hooks?

Ugh – they are all over the place, but I do have two Lantern Moon cases.

Do you collect anything?

Garden Gnomes

Do you like sweets?

I will never EVER turn down sweets.  I love Mike & Ikes, milk chocolate, and Sweet Tarts

What are your favorite scents?

Earthy smells … musks, (not patchouli.)

Are you having a birthday during this swap?

No

Do you have any online wish lists? (Amazon, Loopy Ewe, etc.) Please include a link for your pal.

All of my wish lists are listed on the side bar of my blog.

What is your living situation (Are you married? Do you have kids, pets, or both?)

I am married (it will be a year on Sept.20th!) to a wonderful man who makes home brew!  We also live with our two crazy cats, Mavy and Cooley.  The Hubby and I are also trying to have a baby!

Are you allergic to anything?

Nope.

Is there anything else that you would like your pal to know?

I’m not a coffee drinker – but I love tea, I love to get mix CDs, and I love to write letters and send cards, so stationary is always welcome!!!

Read Full Post »